The Trust is delighted to be supplying the Mercers’ Company with external lighting for their new Mercers Walk development which opens up a previously hidden courtyard to form a walkway between Mercer Street and Langley Street. The brackets have been designed by Ian Ritchie, architect for this major scheme.
The Trust has obtained a trademark for its bespoke Windsor-style street lanterns which are now called The Covent Garden Lantern™. Both the façade and post-mounted lanterns and associated brackets were designed by trustee Paul Draper and this long-life product incorporates a number of innovative features.
The Seven Dials Trust unveiled their People's Plaque commemorating the Roxy Club on 25th April 2017. Marking forty years since the opening of the infamous showcase of Punk, the legendary London venue was also celebrated with a public exhibition of iconic photographs and posters.
You can get a flavour of the unveiling and the private view of the exhibition event with this short film.
The first tranche of twelve People’s Plaques has been sponsored –
We are delighted to report that we have secured sponsorship for the first twelve People's Plaques.
Trustee Mark Rupert Read is sponsoring the plaque to television pioneer John Logie Baird. This will be installed on Tower Street, commemorating the first experimental television broadcasts which Baird carried out there between 1926 and 1928.
The Trust has the responsibility for maintaining the Sundial Pillar – which it owns. Located on a busy roundabout, its beautiful Portland Stone is subject to the depredations of traffic pollution. In summer 2016 we contracted specialists Thomann Hanry to undertake the cleaning of the 40 foot pillar, kindly sponsored by Shaftesbury.
Trust recognised at the London Forum Media Awards 2015 –
Our Neighbourhood Street Name Plates & People’s and Street History Plaques projects won the prestigious London Forum of Amenity and Civic Societies’ Media Awards 2015 in the category of Promoting Local History.
The Trust designed and raised funds for 40 new street name plates –
As part of the Seven Dials Renaissance Project, the Trust designed and raised funds for 40 new street name plates. In line with the aim to harmonise street furniture in the area, the plates incorporate the crest of the ancient parish of St. Giles. They also feature the former names of the historic Seven Dials Streets. Installation was completed in summer 2014.
Major new lighting scheme installed after seven years’ intensive work –
Following seven years of intensive and sometimes frustrating work, 2014 saw the installation of the Trust’s major new lighting scheme – the replacement of post-mounted street lights by bespoke facade-mounted lanterns throughout Seven Dials.
Closure of Earlham Street West at Cambridge Circus was deemed a success –
Camden Council carried out a six-month trial closure of Earlham Street West at Cambridge Circus, and the reversal of traffic flow in Tower Street, to test the effect on traffic movement around the Dials.